Sun-Stripping!

Hey guys! I chose the perfect day to do this little tutorial :D… or maybe not. It’s been constantly raining here today and the skies are so dark :(. But summer is on it’s way- don’t worry! So today’s tutorial is on a trend which has been circling the media recently. I’m going to show you about sun-stripping which is a very easy makeup style to follow because it’s so natural looking. If you haven’t already heard about this, it’s basically a way to give you a beautiful, fresh, sun-kissed look without having to fake tan and blahblahblah. It’s brilliant for any skin colour and skin type and it’s set to be the new spring/summer trend.

IMG_2801

The first thing you have to do is choose your products. I have this NYX contour palette which is perfect for contouring (obviously) but as the colours are so deep, I don’t want to use this for a lightly tanned look.

IMG_2802

The product used has to suit your skin tone and skin type. Instead of working with shades from my contour palette, I’ve chosen to use the Barry M Afterglow Light Bronzer. The reason for this choice is because I have oily skin so a cream bronzer isn’t the best idea for me (if you have a drier skin, you might want to use something a little more creamy in texture). This particular colour is the perfect shade for a sun-kissed effect on me and it has a shimmer running through it which will also reflect the light. It’s perfect for a sunny day!

IMG_2803

I’ve already applied and set my foundation. The reason this method is called sun-stripping is because you start with a strip across the face. Okay, well you don’t have to but why not?? The bronzer is going to replace the places you would normally put a highlighter. The highlighter is great all year round and you can still use it, but you’ll be using a lot less and warming up the face instead.

IMG_2804

I’m using a brush I got in one of my Benefit products, but any flat-ish brush will do. Just do a strip across the area I showed you in the previous picture. Don’t be too harsh with the line and don’t worry about it being perfect just yet.

IMG_2805

Look at that attractive little strip I got going on there ;). Right, now we need to make it look a little less like a rash… Using my setting brush by Real Techniques, I’m going to gently buff the bronzer around the top of my cheekbones and along the nose. Like I said, you don’t have to do the strip but it does help to mark out the main area and leave you with a guide so you don’t go OTT with it.

IMG_2806

Once that’s blended, just work lightly on the other areas the sun would naturally hit like the top of the forehead, tip of the nose and the chin.

IMG_2807

For a look like this, you don’t really need a blush, but I can’t complete my look without some form of rosy cheek so I’m using the Accessorize Merged Baked Blusher inΒ Quiver. What I love so much about this is that it’s similar to the mineralize blushers by MAC and though it seems like a super bright sickly pink, it looks so natural and gorgeous on the skin! I have also decided to add a small amount of highlighter on my cupids bow, under my brow and on the inner half of my cheeks :*

I finished off with a small liner, defined brows and a peachy lipgloss πŸ™‚ Perfect for the summertime! Bring it on.

Thanks for reading, lots of love to you all ❀

@alexgeorgiaantonia xo

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sun-Stripping!

Leave a comment